Scattered! Friday Five

The Bonus question: The first thing that came into my mind was, I sure hope I can get the link for this posted properly on the RevGals blog!!!

1. I chronically lose my glasses. Even after nearly a lifetime of wearing glasses, they are the first thing I remove whenever I get home, or into my office, or where ever I can do without them. Occasionally I even forget I’ve pushed them onto my head.

2. My daughter came home last night after seeing Ides of March and was raving about it (which she seldom does). I also watched the trailer for the Elmo movie and it was so heartwarming and smile making that I think that is number two on my list.

3. Comfort food of choice is chips and dip with a tall cold glass of Pepsi. Second choice is an A&W Teenburger combo with onion rings and root beer. I’m just a fat and salty kind of gal.

4. Story time. Tell us a story of one your favorite people that has touched, blessed your life. Only ONE??? I’ve been blessed by so many, but at the top of my list is my friend Gail. We’ve been friends forever (since we were 13 and 14) and she’s always been there for each other, through thick and thin, marriages, divorces, children, parental illness, graduations, ordinations and all the rest. She is one of those friends who you can go to see and even though it might have been months or even years since we’ve been together, we carry on right where we left off.

5. To focus myself, I turn to my lists. I am a compulsive list maker, if I’ve got my list, and my daytimer, I feel pretty well in control of my life and they keep me centred and calm. I use iCal and a free app “Paperless” on my iPhone and between the two of them I am pretty well organized. Having said all that, I must say, I’m not compulsively driven by the lists. I’m always ready to move something to another day if something more interesting comes up, but the lists do help me feel focused and somewhat centred.

Recently, I’ve become aware of how Sunday calms and centres me; the weekly discipline of preparing for Sunday worship, gives my life a wonderful rhythm as I move through the seasons of the liturgical year. I have a pattern for preparation that I follow fairly closely (its on the list) and I find that the hour or so I spend each day preparing for Sunday has become a touchstone of my life, it is the stillpoint around which everything else seems to revolve.

Now, off to see if this will link….

BONUS: Share the first thing (or second thing) that comes to your mind after your read this!

About theladyfather

Anglican Priest of an ethnically diverse small city parish.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Scattered! Friday Five

  1. Songbird says:

    How wonderful to have a friend like Gail!

  2. karla says:

    Indeed, I agree with Songbird. Salt, fried, yum. Yum!
    I make lists, sometimes, too–but I never follow them. I guess the act of writing it out makes one feel organized!
    Thanks for playing!

  3. Jan says:

    What a good friend! You reminded me that I want to see “Ides of March,” too. I think my husband might go with me, and he doesn’t like to go out to movies!

Leave a Reply

