Friday Five April 15

Birthdays…

In my family we are notorious for missing birthdays…at least I am, the kids are always reminding me of family birthdays; including my own. I think that as an only child, with a chronically ill mother, birthdays were never a big deal.

Now that I have grandchildren, thankfully, my daughters make sure that family birthdays are celebrated, but, in an attempt to make amends for years and years of neglect, I through 2 “omni-birthday parties” a year. The first one is in March where we celebrate daughter, 2 son-in-laws, 2 grandchildren, and grandfther. In late summer we celebrate 2 daughters, 2 grandchildren, 1 son, and me!

It isn’t typical, but it works for us. We also celebrate Christmas about a week before the actual date so that the kids are free to go to respective in-laws without feeling guilty and I can concentrate on all the churchy Christmas stuff.

About theladyfather

Anglican Priest of an ethnically diverse small city parish.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

