Hello world!

Having just spent a wonderful week with the RevGals, I’ve decided to try my hand at blogging.  I’ll start by commenting on my somewhat random title:   Kilts, djembes and red boots.  I am an Anglican Priest (female) and I minister to a very diverse community that includes  people from Britian, Africa, the Ukraine and the West Indies.  I would have included steel drums, but I felt that would make the title far too long and it really didn’t scan.

Quite unintentionally, I choose words that all had to do with dance, and even though I’m definitely only a “behind closed doors” dancer, I do love to dance…who knows, now that I’ve  found the courage to start  blogging, maybe dancing will be next.  But, to get back to the point, I think that dancing is a marvellous metaphor for life; especially life with God as your dance partner.  Several years ago, I received an email that included an “addendum” to the well known, and oft quoted “Footprints” poem.  I was quite struck by the addendum which told how the writer continued to look back at the footprints left in the sand and became puzzled when he saw places where the two sets of footprints got quite chaotic and scuffed, facing this way and that and sometimes with one set on top of another.  When he asked about this, the Lord replied with a smile, “Ah, that’s where we danced.”

I loved that image and it has sustained me through times when there has been sadness as well as joy, knowing that I am held in the close embrace of the one who calls me “beloved”, even when the music is in a minor key.

 

 

About theladyfather

Anglican Priest of an ethnically diverse small city parish.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hello world!

  1. Songbird says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere!

  2. Karla says:

    Indeed, dancing is life!!!

  3. So glad you are blogging! 🙂 Can’t wait to read what other great thoughts you have to share.

  4. you did it! welcome! hot damn and hallelujah!

  5. Welcome, Liz! I look forward to more!

  6. revdrkate says:

    Doing the happy dance (with God as partner?) to have you as a blogger.

  7. Mary Beth says:

    This is LOVELY. I love the image of dancing with God in the footprints and also your title. Did you catch, in Martha’s story in the first meeting, that we were originally suggested by Sally Lodge to be “RevBlogGalPals” (I think) and Martha, our resident poet, changed it to RevGalBlogPals, which, she said, “scanned better.”

    I love the poets in my life.

    Love you.

  8. liz Crumlish says:

    In the words of the Maitre D’ – woohoo!!! x

  9. God_guurrlll says:

    yay Liz!

  10. kathrynzj says:

    A beautiful beginning – dance away!

Leave a Reply

